The Diocese of Oxford is divided into four smaller ‘episcopal Areas’, each overseen by their own Area Bishop.

The Reading Episcopal Area extends from west Berkshire along the M4 corridor to Windsor.

It includes very rural areas and large centres of population such as Reading and Bracknell and with a population of 800,000 is larger than many dioceses in the Church of England.

The deaneries of the Reading Episcopal Area are: Bracknell, Bradfield, Maidenhead & Windsor, Newbury, Reading and Sonning.

Mission Action Plan for the Berkshire Archdeaconry

Being the People of God today
Resources from the recent Berkshire Archdeaconry conference

Reading Area Map

Andrew Proud

Bishop of Reading

The Bishop of Reading is the Rt Revd Andrew Proud. Bishop Andrew has been Bishop of Reading since 2011.

Olivia Graham

Archdeacon of Berkshire

The Archdeacon of Berkshire is the Venerable Olivia Graham. She has been Archdeacon of Berkshire since October 2013.

Stephen Pullin

Stephen Pullin

Assistant Archdeacon