Episcopal areas

A Landscape in Rural Oxfordshire with Hamlet of Little Wittenham in the valleyThe Diocese of Oxford covers the three counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire - around 2,200 square miles. 

Because of our large size, the diocese is divided into four smaller 'episcopal areas', each overseen by their own area bishop. Each area is divided into deaneries, or groups of parishes. 

Did you know that three of our episcopal areas are larger than entire dioceses elsewhere in the Church of England? 


Find out more about...

Oxford (City)




Page last updated: Tuesday 28th February 2023 12:07 PM
Powered by Church Edit