The Closed Churches Committee meets around twice a year, depending on the number of cases, to work towards identifying suitable alternative uses for churches closed for regular public worship under the provisions of the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011. The committee is formally a subcommittee of the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee (DMPC). Its members are the archdeacons, a representative of each of the Bishop’s Council (which carries out the functions of the DMPC),  the Diocesan Board of Finance and the Diocesan Advisory Committee, and up to two bishop’s nominees.

Church closures occur in small numbers and unpredictably. There have been a dozen in the Diocese over the last 20 years. Day-to-day administration in relation to closed church buildings is the responsibility of the Adviser to the DMPC, Petronella Spivey, who works in close liaison with colleagues at the Church Commissioners and professional advisers as appropriate