The Diocese of Oxford is divided into four smaller ‘episcopal Areas’, each overseen by their own Area Bishop. The Bishop of Dorchester is the Rt Revd Colin Fletcher.

The Dorchester Episcopal Area covers a great deal of Oxfordshire, apart from the City of Oxford. It extends from the Cotswolds in the west all the way down to Henley-on-Thames.

The deaneries in the Dorchester Area are: AbingdonAston & Cuddesdon, Bicester & Islip, Chipping Norton, Deddington, Henley, Vale of White Horse,  WantageWallingfordWitney and Woodstock.

Mission Action Plan for the Dorchester Archdeaconry

Dorchester Area Day – Towards a Common Vision

The presentation from Bishop Colin can be found here

The presentation from Maggie Scott, Deputy Chief Executive of Oxford County Council can emailed to
you by contacting Paula Bennett.

Bishop Steven’s address can be found here

Colin Fletcher

Bishop of Dorchester

The Bishop of Dorchester is the Rt Revd Colin Fletcher OBE. He has been Bishop of Dorchester since 2000.

Judy French

Archdeacon of Dorchester

The Bishop of Dorchester is supported by the Archdeacon of Dorchester, the Venerable Judy French. Other colleagues also provide specialist advice and support in the Area of Dorchester.

David Tyler

David Tyler

Assistant Archdeacon of Dorchester
Deddington Chipping Norton Witney Vale of White Horse Abingdon Woodstock Bicester and Islip Wantage Wallingford Aston and Cuddesdon Henley
Useful links