Oxford Diocese is committed to encouraging a culture of life-long learning among its clergy and Licensed Lay Ministers (LLMs). Various forms of ministerial development have been offered in this diocese for many years. Under Common Tenure all licensed clergy are required to undertake ministerial development, and to set aside five days a year in order to do so. The Diocese, in return, offers many opportunities for learning. Courses are offered to support clergy during important transitions (such as becoming an incumbent for the first time, or around retirement). There are day conferences organised on an ad hoc basis and occasional training days in worship and liturgy. Many ministers have their own networks offering training and development of various kinds. There are grants available to assist with these. The annual Ministerial Review is where CMD needs may be identified and ministers are expected to be proactive in seeking the training and development they require.

The various strands of CMD provision are set out below:

Find out about the 2018 Clergy Conference for all clergy who hold a current licence within the Diocese of Oxford.

The members of the CMD Team are:

David Heywood, Deputy Director of  Mission (Ministerial Formation)
01865595244 – email david.heywood@oxford.anglican.org

Charles Chadwick, Oxford Archdeaconry Parish Development Adviser
01865 208246 – email charles.chadwick@oxford.anglican.org

Gill Lovell, Buckingham Archdeaconry Parish Development Adviser
01865 208256/07391 416089  – email gill.lovell@oxford.anglican.org

Rhodri Bowen, Berkshire Archdeaconry Parish Development Adviser (from April 16th 2018)
01865 208296 – email rhodri.bowen@oxford.anglican.org

Sheila Townsend, PA to the CMD Team
01865 208277 – email sheila.townsend@oxford.anglican.org