The Bishop of Oxford is the diocesan or most senior bishop, responsible for oversight of the whole diocese. Because of its large size, the Diocese of Oxford is divided into four smaller ‘episcopal Areas’, each overseen by their own Area Bishop.

In some instances these ‘Areas’ are larger than entire dioceses elsewhere in the Church of England. In addition to his diocese-wide and national responsibilities, the Bishop of Oxford has pastoral care of the two deaneries of Oxford and Cowley, which cover the City of Oxford, right in the heart of the diocese.

The Bishop of Oxford, the Rt Revd Dr Steven Croft,  was welcomed in a service of inauguration at Christ Church Cathedral on 30 September 2016. You can contact the Bishop by email or by phone via his EA Marian Green on 01865 208222. For media enquiries, please contact Steven Buckley on 07824 906839 or by email at

Martin Gorick

Archdeacon of Oxford

The Archdeacon of Oxford is the Venerable Martin Gorick, the latest in a long line going back to 1092. He has been Archdeacon of Oxford since 2013.

Peter Groves

Peter Groves

Assistant Archdeacon of Oxford

Oxford Area Map

(Click map for deanery staff and churches)

Cowley DeaneryOxford Deanery