Deanery RoleName
Area DeanThe Revd Helen Kendrick
Deanery Synod: Lay ChairMrs Sue Scott

abingdonDeanery Website:

Spotlights on the Abingdon Deanery

Abingdon Deanery lies to the south and west of the city of Oxford. It is made up of four ‘clusters’ of Parishes, with one ‘stand alone’ parish of Dry Sandford – as illustrated in the map above. We are in the Archdeaconry of Dorchester. Our Area Bishop is the Rt. Revd Colin Fletcher OBE, and our Archdeacon is the Venerable Judy French.

The Four Clusters:

Northern Cluster: Cumnor, Wootton, Kennington, Sunningwell and Radley

Western Cluster: Appleton (with Besselsleigh), Kingston Bagpuize and Southmoor with Fyfield and Tubney, Marcham with Garford and Shippon

Abingdon: The Parish of Abingdon on Thames [St. Helen’s, St. Michael’s, St. Nicholas], and Christ Church North Abingdon (with Long Furlong)

DAMASCUS: Drayton, Appleford, Milton and Sutton Courtenay United with Steventon

Dry Sandford: originally part of the Parish of Wootton and Dry Sandford, this small parish is unique in that it is very closely linked to Cothill School, and the Chaplain of the School is the Priest-in-Charge of the Parish.

We also include one ecumenical initiative based at Peachcroft Christian Centre in north Abingdon.

The Deanery Synod meets four times a year, and the Deanery Chapter similarly, with occasional additional ‘quiet days’.