The 2018 Parish Safeguarding Handbook has important new information for incumbents and church officers. Please download and read this important information.


Oxford Diocesan Safeguarding Team


We offer advice, support and guidance to anyone in the diocese about all aspects of safeguarding.  This may include:

  • Advice and support: telephone, email and face-to-face consultation about a range of issues.
  • Policy and practice: signposting to national and local policies and practice guidance.
  • Training: safeguarding training to clergy and other leaders, churches and individual church members, including face-to-face training and online resources.
  • Casework: management of complex cases, joint-working with statutory agencies, consultation and advice.
  • Support for survivors: direct support and advice, provision of Authorised Listeners.


Safeguarding Referral Form and Contact Details:

Safeguarding Referral Form:

The Safeguarding Referral Form must be used to refer safeguarding concerns to members of the Diocesan safeguarding team.  All phone or email referrals to the safeguarding team must be followed up by completing the Safeguarding Referral Form and returning it to: safeguardingreferrals@oxford.anglican.org

The safeguarding team aim to acknowledge receipt of all referrals within 48 hours.  A member of the safeguarding team will contact the referrer, in accordance with case prioritisation, to discuss the referral further.

For urgent and confidential safeguarding matters:

Richard Woodley, Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser, richard.woodley@oxford.anglican.org, 07391 868478

Lisa Wilkins, Safeguarding Casework Officer,  lisa.wilkins@oxford.anglican.org or 01865 208295

Emma Hooper, Safeguarding Casework Officer, emma.hooper@oxford.anglican.org

For queries on safeguarding training:
Rebecca Norris-Bulpitt, Safeguarding Assistant & Training Officer – rebecca.norris-bulpitt@oxford.anglican.org or 01865 587041

For DBS and general safeguarding enquiries:
Linda Carpenter, Safeguarding Administrator – linda.carpenter@oxford.anglican.org or 01865 208267

For general safeguarding enquiries and advice on policies or procedures:
safeguarding@oxford.anglican.org