“Outstanding” Church schools awarded plaques to celebrate their success


MORE than 24 ‘Outstanding’ Church primary schools have received special plaques to recognise their hard work.

The schools were all deemed ‘Outstanding’ by the Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools (SIAMS). To celebrate, the Education Team at the Diocese of Oxford ran a competition, calling on church school pupils to design an ‘Outstanding SIAMS’ logo and a plaque. SIAMS manager for the diocese, Lesley Turville, arranged the competition and a SIAMS Outstanding Awards Ceremony.

The plaques were presented by the Bishop of Dorchester, the Rt Revd Colin Fletcher. They were funded by the Bayne Benefaction, which exists to support clergy and schools in the Diocese of Oxford. The benefaction’s trustees are the Dean of Christ Church, the Bishop of Oxford, and the Archdeacons of Berkshire, Buckingham and Oxford.

Schools that have so far been awarded plaques are; Binfield; Finmere; Tackley; Mortimer St Mary’s; Abingdon St Nicolas’s; Shiplake; North Leigh; Shellingford; Holy Trinity, Cookham; Earley St Peter’s;, Hazlemere; Wroxton; The Batt, Witney; Lewknor; Amersham St Mary’s; Great Kimble; Cookham Dean; Bloxham; Ashbury; Monks Risborough; Brimpton; and Maidenhead, St Luke’s.